

CELEBRATING STAFF EXCELLENCE AND

THE GOLDEN AGE OF UHD

July 16, 2024



Office of Human Resources

STAFF AWARDS TEAMS

STAFF AWARDS PLANNING COMMITTEE

Adrian Bermudez Cecealia Booty Ashley Carter

Jenifer Cortez April Frank Tesha Koltys

Chetiqua Matthews Heron

Erica Morales Christian Purdy

Jr Sears

AWARD PRESENTERS

VP Carole Clerie VP Lisa Joyner VP Daniel Villanueva AVP David Ryden VP Jay Zambrano Carole Clerie Jr Sears

Staff Council President

STAFF AWARDS REVIEW BOARD

Adrian Bermudez Jenifer Cortez Gabriela Estrada Lauren Jackson Ruby LaCour-Tyler Shiya Rawls Samantha Salazar Yesenia Sanchez

STAFF COUNCIL

Adrian Bermudez Jr Sears Tesha Koltys Gladis Moya Tasia Parker

PROGRAM

OPENING REMARKS

Debra McGaughey, Assistant VP, University Relations

A MESSAGE FROM DR. BLANCHARD

Dr. Loren J. Blanchard, UHD President

GATOR CONNECT RECOGNITION

Mike Guajardo, Talent Management and Development Specialist

SERVICE LONGEVITY AWARDS

Carole Clerie, VP, Human Resources

Dr. Lisa Joyner., VP, Student Success and Student Life

Dr. Daniel Villanueva, VP, Enrollment Management

Jay Zambrano, VP, Advancement and University Relations

Dr. David Ryden, AVP, Programming and Curriculum

ACADEMIC AWARDS

David Ryden, AVP, Programming and Curriculum

STAFF IMPACT AWARDS

Adrian Bermudez, Staff Council President-Elect

PRESIDENT'S STAFF EXCELLENCE AWARD

Jr Sears, Staff Council President

CLOSING REMARKS

Debra McGaughey, Assistant VP, University Relations

SERVICE LONGEVITY AWARDS

5 YEARS

Stephanie Aise David Alvarado Ashley Bonilla Denise Burgan Karina Calix Katalina J. Castillo Jose Castillo Israel Chavez Ronald Cooks Victor Duarte Heidi Flores Dr. Brian R. Flores **Rvan Gealow** Marcus Godbold Christian Gonzales Julia Gonzalez Stefany Guzman Martinez Floyd Heard Lauren D. Jackson E. Jamal James Michelle Jones Daniel Ko Mitchell Loper Francisco Lopez Tyrone Macklin Stephen McMorris Khoa Nguyen Judy Owens Hope Pamplin Lissette Perez

David Mario Porras

Richard Rodriguez

Jonathan Schwartz

Joanna Rosario

Erica Skinner

Timothy Solis

Beatriz Torres Quy Truong-Vu Charis Vieira Briana Zweck

10 YEARS

Brenda Alvarez Corev Austin Cecealia Booty Lisa Braysen Berry Bryant **Timothy Epps** Savannah Fields Janelle Frazier Vernon Gonzales, Jr. Cynthia Taplett-Hartman Craig Heitmiller **Brett Hobby** Ikea Jernigan Maria Perez Vanessa Pigeon Percy Sandel Liz Tran Jose Vazquez Elizabeth Villegas Samuel Weehunt Tiffany Wilson Eric Zett Ting Zhang Kris Zimmerman

15 YEARS

Joel Calix Brittany Clark Kimberly Constantine Amanda Garza LoShon Harvey Alex Hernandez Julio Hernandez-Vasquez Adrian Mallard Guadalupe Martinez Marla McDaniel Suzette Mouchaty Stephanie Porter

Ivan Marcelo Saldivia Teresa Sterling Vincent Wilkins

20 YEARS

Joe Baraias Joseph Correa Kevin Dorsey Raymond Jenkins Thomas McBride Henry McCarthy Cesar Mogollon Franklin Phan Christopher Reynolds Cynthia Russell Chandra Slaughter Christine Stempinski Dr. Jemma Svlvester-Caesar Kei Shay L. Tones

25 YEARS

Ruby Brown-Hogan Maria Cadena Jaime Cortez Trinity Delafance Ana Esparza Abraham Flores Wajid Iqbal Antonio Islas Yi Yang

30 YEARS

Dewayne Loville Laura Montelongo

35 YEARS

Deidre Allen Said Fattouh G. Anthony Samudio

40 YEARS

Dominique R. Dominguez

ACADEMIC AWARDS

Sharona Castello

Master of Business Administration in Human Resources University of Houston-Downtown

Ralph Estrada

Master's Degree, Texas Woman's University

Amanda Garza

Master's Degree, Texas Woman's University

Rebecca Hamilton

Master of Business Administration, University of Houston-Downtown

Alicia Holder

Bachelor of Arts in History, University of Houston-Downtown

Matthew Jordan

Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Amanda R. Jones

Master of Business Administration, Lamar University

Dewayne Loville

Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies & Psychology Minor University of Houston-Downtown

Joy Oguchi

Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership, Houston Christian University

Kavon Samie

Bachelor of Arts in History, University of Houston-Downtown

Michael Stone

Bachelor of Science in Psychology, University of Houston-Downtown

STAFF IMPACT AWARD NOMINEES

STUDENT SUCCESS AWARD

Wendy Cooper

Tiffany Wilson

Tiffany Register

LEADERSHIP AWARD

Lisa Gonzales-Hatfield

Angela Parrish

LoShon Harvey

Vanessa Pigeon

Erica Morales

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR AWARD

Michael Alexander

Andrea Olvera

Alicia Holder

Norberto Salazar

GOES THE EXTRA MILE AWARD

Corey Austin

Tesha Koltys

Amber Banda

Nicole Pope

Ana Cantu Alvarez

Jessica Ramirez

Maria Carrillo

Shiya Rawls

Katalina J. Castillo

Norberto Salazar

Marlene Chavez

Syeda Sikandar

Timothy Coulter

Thomas Genoso

Tamieka Young

STAFF IMPACT AWARDS

Student Success Award

Nominees contribute to the personal, professional, or academic development of a student or group of students above and beyond the expectation of their position. Nominees foster a student-centered atmosphere and contribute to student retention.

Leadership Award

Nominees demonstrate excellence in leadership and serve as positive role models. They lead, inspire and motivate, and display leadership qualities, including exceptional communication, problem-solving, integrity, and a desire to help other succeed.

Rookie of the Year Award

Nominees should have a remarkable ability to adjust to a new work environment while demonstrating outstanding enthusiasm and a high level of energy.

Goes the Extra Mile Award

Nominees consistently go above and beyond what is required and expected in performing their job duties and responsibilities. They have made a major impact on an important University event, function, or service, and/or continuously display outstanding work.

PRESIDENT'S STAFF **EXCELLENCE AWARD**

The President's Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff members for individual excellence achieved in their role with the University. The highest honor the university can bestow on a staff employee, the President's Staff Excellence Award is designed to recognize and honor one staff member that has served the University in an exemplary manner.

NOMINEES

Erica Morales

Gladis Moya

STAFF AWARDS DOOR PRIZE DONORS

Amy's Ice Creams

Cidercade

Fleet Feet

Four Seasons Hotel Houston

Guard and Grace

Houston Ballet

Houston Met Dance

H-Town Restaurant Group

In N Out

Landry's

Local Foods

Main Street Theatre

Milk and Honey

Moonstruck Drive-In Cinema

Pluckers Wing Bar

Rich's Car Wash

Rooftop Cinema Club

Scent & Violet

Six Flags Hurricane Harbor

Taste of Texas

Topgolf

UHD Advancement and University Relations UHD Bookstore

SPECIAL THANKS

50TH ANNIVERSARY PLANNING COMMITTEE

CHARTWELLS

COCA-COLA

EVENTS & CONFERENCES

FACILITIES MANAGEMENT

MULTIMEDIA SERVICES

ADVANCEMENT & UNIVERSITY RELATIONS

